Boxing and Military Press Day (Cycle 3 Week 2)

Cycle three! Hell yeah!

 

So I got all of my training maxes dialed in an planned the week out. It’s looking really good.

 

Back on Monday I had boxing and military press. I had an engineering exam in the morning so I didn’t do much of an extra session after boxing. I just boxed and then did some banded rotator stuff and foam rolled a little BECAUSE I WAS STILL SORE FROM SQUATS ON FRIDAY.

 

Later, after CGT lecture, which was awesome because some Boeing guys came in and took up the whole time, I went in for my lifting session. Let me just start off by saying that it was amazing!

I have decided to add in some rack jerk work, mainly because I feel like it, but it will also help with my unilateral strength as well as being a good partial pressing movement to warm up with. So after my warm up (which I have stopped documenting as much because it’s always the same), I went to do some rack jerks. I don’t exactly remember my progression, but on the early sets I really focused on getting the drop. I have switched to throwing my left foot forward and my right one back, because that is similar to my boxing stance. So I worked my way up, and ended up setting a rack jerk PR of 175 lbs! The part that I enjoyed the most was that on my first attempt I failed the weight,  to the point where I had to drop it on the ground. And since I was in the rack this means that it was pretty loud. I kinda liked the attention. So I put the energy in to the next attempt. AND KILLED IT!!!

Also, the sexy gym girl was squatting next to me and she had some guy spot her 155 lbs back squat attempt. She failed and he didn’t know how to spot so they looked like idiots. She keeps giving me looks like she’s trying to prove to me she is a hardass. Whatever. She’s hot and she knows how to lift = win win.

Next I moved on to my 5/3/1 sets of military press. I ended up doing 8 reps on the final set, which was good, but nothing special. I try hard on military press, but it’s really just an accessory lift. After that I moved on to seated DB military press. These sets were good and strong. Oh and I did pull-ups in between just about every set.

I moved into DB rows s/s with post delt raises after this (I did the wrong lifts last week lol). These were good and strong. Afterwards I got a great pump going by s/s-ing fatz DB curls and DB off floor. It was a great day in the co-rec.

Leave a comment