A Simple List of the Things I Think About

Yesterday, I was in a meeting. I couldn’t keep up with the German, so I decided to go through the lifts in my head and write down the “mental checkpoints” that I have for each. I did these for the Weightlifts and Powerlifts. You can see the comparison/contrast.

Snatch

Set feet, set hands, set hips, first pull begins, shins hit vertical, bar passes knees, contact, second pull begins, throw it to the ceiling, finish pull and extend vertically, begin drop, punch elbows through, lock tight, catch, settle, stand up, done = 17

CJ

Set feet, set hands, set hips, begin first pull, shins vertical, bar passes knees, contact, second pull begins, throw it to the ceiling, drop, pull bar to shoulders, meet bar, ride bar, lock tight, stand up, pop bar and adjust hands, 3 breaths, lock tight, dip and throw, split feet, catch bar, recover feet, done = 24

PL Squat

Set feet, set hands, set bar on back, unrack, begin squat, break knees out and sit back, hit bottom, stand up, done = 9

PL Bench

Set traps, set hips, set feet, set hands, unrack, sink bar, descend to chest, pause, press, rack, done = 12

PL DL

Set feet, set hands, set hips, pull back, finish hips through, done = 6

Obviously, one must constantly monitor and make adjustments during each lift, but these are the main checkpoints for me (if I’m thinking clearly).

Leave a comment